Grow Your Blog 2014

use this oneI’m writing today as part of the 2014 ‘Grow Your Blog’ party, run courtesy of 2 Bags Full; a lovely blog full of knitting and family and fun. So first of all let me give a big “HELLO!” to anyone who’s stumbled here as part of that party – hope you’re having a great time getting to know new bloggers from around the globe.

I’m sure I am!

The reason this blogging party appealed to me (and has the rather prestigious honour of popping my blog party cherry) is the same reason that blogging itself first appealed to me: sharing. 

I believe sharing is incredibly important.

My most transformative experiences in life have all come about through my immersion in what other people have offered to share with me; knowingly or unknowingly. In books I’ve read, conversations I’ve had or overheard and (more recently) in blogs I follow, I constantly come across thoughts and ideas and amazing acts of creativity that inspire me to question, consider, wonder and (quite often) sit-slack-jawed-and-staring at the awesomeness of the World and the beauty of the people who live in it.

In current consumer culture it is often considered foolhardy to share of yourself so openly; trust is reserved for those who have worked and slaved to prove their worth and even then it should be given grudgingly and with a list of caveats. To share your abilities and insights freely (i.e: without monetary charge*) is also a colossal mistake – “Why give anything for free when you could charge for it?!” The pressure to advertise, to promote, to get-rich-quick is phenomenal in all areas but especially the creative arenas and I’ve already noticed it in the blogosphere.

Yet I can honestly say that the blogs I have most enjoyed and continue to enjoy aren’t the ones who are simply trying to sell me something. They’re the ones whose authors are willing to share their lives and their thoughts and parts of their very soul – through words, images, humour – freely, and without expecting anything (except maybe the odd comment) in return. There is something courageous about that. Something which i find immeasurably inspiring. I have learned more about my own self and expectations from these people than from family members I am related to by blood. It was through experiencing the courage and catharsis of these blogs that I first considered starting my own.

Sharing

After leaving my job, changing career, moving across country, marrying my husband and living in a tent for three months I found a desire to express my creativity in new ways. Easing into the sharing spirit I began to run community events that were inspired by my personal observance of the Wheel Of The Year (see the pages up top for more info). Each event offers a chance to mark the seasonal changes in the world around us; but perhaps more importantly it encourages participants to share something they create/think/find that inspires in them the atmosphere and energy of the season. It is often a poem or a story. Sometimes it’s a favourite recipe or actual cake! And sometimes people sit in the circle and simply speak directly from their mind and their soul and these are the moments when the courage and catharsis I first found in blogging comes to me in real life.

I write here at Walk The Wheel to keep people updated about our events and as a way to share some of my own insights and ideas. I aim to provide detailed information about the history and traditions of each of the Wheel’s eight festivals as well as sharing my own opinions and experiences of them; so the blog is one way to follow the Wheel itself. Alongside this will be posts about mindfulness, imagination, spirituality and my own life. I try not to plan what is to come, instead just share my self and my experiences in the hope that they will resonate with others in some way.

I would like to inspire knowing smiles, shaking heads, laughs out loud and (if I’m lucky) be able to communicate a little of the awe that the World fills me with every day.

Life is an opportunity for us to experience and create and then share the results.
When we do we are able to more fully appreciate our life, expanding it beyond our physical world into the spiritual and the virtual!

What could be more magical than that?!

Keli x

30529_1416296963598_8262829_n

(*: Not that I have a problem with people who DO make an income from their blog, I think that’s great and doubtless takes a lot of work and skill. But as a beginner blogger the ability to make money can seem like one of those badges of honour that is just too far away and striving for it can (if you let it) take the joy and creativity out of blogging. Finding the balance between both is something I’d love to do one day.)

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Overboard Creations
    Feb 14, 2014 @ 00:51:53

    Wow I love my visit. Didn’t realize that there is so much going on in cyber world. Forgive me for coming to the party at the last minute, But 600 blog reading was a little tasking. I wanted to read and get to know the girls so I did read everyone’s bio. Your my 565 blog and 24 hours left to go. If you like come visit My site http://overboardcreations.blogspot.com/and contact info is http://ovr_brd@yahoo.com I believe inspiration comes from all facets of life even knowing the great people out there with wisdom and knowledge the do’s and don’ts and even the wonders of life from a personal point of view. I liked you following you on goggle connect and Bloglovin you. hope to see you in the cyber neighborhood I am new to blogging so I don’t have a lot posted because I got side tract with GYB party. Kind of felt it was important to have some one read my silly chatter. I can’t remember a time I didn’t dabble in something creative. I tried a little of everything. But, my new love these days is Card making I just love it.

    Reply

  2. lynn cockrell
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 16:13:15

    Hello, Keli!

    I am stopping by from the GYB party at Vicki’s and have enjoyed reading your recent posts. You writing is lovely and poetic. I enjoyed learning about a few new celebrations, traditions and beliefs. I have signed up to be a follower!

    Reply

    • kelitomlin
      Feb 06, 2014 @ 19:47:33

      Hi Lynn, thank you for dropping by and leaving a comment, it is very much appreciated. I am glad you have enjoyed reading some posts and thank you for your kind words. I look forward to walking the wheel with you 🙂 x x

      Reply

  3. minerva
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 11:51:16

    Just dropped by via the GYB party – lovely blog and sentiments.
    Alison

    Reply

  4. Diana Petrillo
    Feb 01, 2014 @ 23:42:59

    Hi Keli–thanks for stopping by and visiting me via the GYB party–it’s been lots of fun, hasn’t it. Blessings, Diana

    Reply

    • kelitomlin
      Feb 01, 2014 @ 23:48:08

      Hi Diana, thanks for returning the favour 🙂 It has been a great experience and I’m still enjoying working through the list. 🙂
      Bright blessings
      Keli x

      Reply

  5. Cindy Cousineau
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 00:41:21

    Hi Keli,
    I’ve just popped over from GYB and wanted to say thanks for stopping by. I’m looking forward to some inspiration when this blug I caught leaves me.
    Cindy

    Reply

    • kelitomlin
      Jan 31, 2014 @ 15:51:15

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting, I really appreciate it/ Hope you are feeling better soon! I always find the turning seasons are when germs hit me the most! x x

      Reply

  6. Mexitali Rose
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 00:16:11

    Wow I really love your blog, and we have a lot in common. Thanks for stopping by my blog, I look forward to celebrating the wheel with you.I actually just today started Yogi Cameron’s “The One Plan” today and was happy to see you also have the Eightfold Path wheel .

    Reply

    • kelitomlin
      Jan 31, 2014 @ 15:50:37

      Hi, thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. It is wonderful to meet people with shared interests and especially when those meetings are enhanced by unexpected synchronicity 🙂 I hope you enjoy the book/teachings. x x

      Reply

  7. Dolores
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 04:28:16

    Hi keli,
    Stopping by from the GYB party. Enjoyed reading through your blog. Way back when geocities had websites I shared a lot of poetry online. Now I blog about my art quilts and processes. I share my ideas freely. Stop by if you get a chance to be entered in my nifty fifty giveaway! Happy blogging

    Reply

    • kelitomlin
      Jan 29, 2014 @ 18:10:48

      Hi Dolores, thank you for stopping by and commenting, it is much appreciated. I will definitely stop by your blog, thanks for sharing your artistic talents 🙂 Enjoy GYB!

      Reply

  8. Judy
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 02:43:49

    Hi, so nice to meet you. I will definitely be back to see more. Happy hopping!

    Reply

  9. Carole
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 01:50:44

    Nice to meet you and have enjoyed visiting. Have a lovely evening.

    Reply

  10. Southpaw Stitcher
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 17:37:52

    Hi Keli, Just stopped by from the GYB party. Nice to meet you! Loved your face made of hands! I’m look forward to reading your blog this year and finding out more about the Wheel. –Pat

    Reply

    • kelitomlin
      Jan 26, 2014 @ 18:54:33

      Hi Pat,
      Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, it is much appreciated 🙂 I hope you enjoy following the Wheel and look forward to our journeying together x

      Reply

  11. averyclaire
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 15:22:51

    Thanks for sharing with everyone! Have fun.

    Reply

  12. Donna Heber
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 11:12:10

    Hi Keli,

    I’m visiting from the Grow Your Blog party. It is nice to meet you. I plan to look around a bit more and then be on my way to visit the others. I do hope you will stop by for a visit and enter my giveaway. Have a wonderful weekend! Hugs – Donna

    Reply

  13. Deborah Weber
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 02:37:18

    What a delight to have found your blog Keli via the GYB party. I look forward to getting to know you better.

    Reply

  14. Autummwind Reno
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 00:38:16

    Hi, Just popping in for the GYB party. I enjoyed your post and look forward to more in the future: )

    Reply

  15. Stefanie
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 21:45:28

    So pleased to have found your blog via Grow Your Blog. I also try to work with and follow the energies of the Wheel of the Year so I look forward to following your posts

    Reply

    • kelitomlin
      Jan 26, 2014 @ 10:34:19

      😀 Wonderful! I hope the posts are a useful addition to your current practices.
      Thank you for taking the time to pop by and to comment – very appreciated. x x

      Reply

  16. arputha18
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 18:33:24

    Hi! Thanks you so much for stopping by my blog.. Happy to know you through GYB party! Nice post and nice thoughts:) hugs..

    Reply

  17. In The Boon Docks
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 17:53:02

    I think I like you way of thinking and will add you to my bloglovin! I hope you enjoy the creativity of my blog too! I also don’t sell anything but I do give things away!

    Reply

  18. Wanda
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 16:40:01

    Hello–I’m stopping by from the GYB blog hop. I very much enjoyed your very thoughtful post.

    Reply

  19. Karen B.
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 14:06:29

    Hi there, my name is Karen B. and I am one of Vicki’s volunteers and would like to welcome you to todays GYB and wish you a nice time and many followers.
    Hugs,
    Karen B.

    Reply

  20. Diane
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 09:29:43

    I enjoyed stopping by! I scrolled down and read some of your previous posts. I enjoyed reading about the winter solstice. We were in the midst of a HUGE winter storm and I was unable to observe it with my yearly bonfire and burning of regrets.

    Reply

    • kelitomlin
      Jan 25, 2014 @ 17:16:25

      Thanks Diane! I am really grateful that you both read and commented 🙂 It is a shame you weren’t able to fulfill your usual Solstice traditions, but I hope that with the weather being so intense you were still able to feel the spirit of it. x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright

All written materials and images, unless otherwise stated, are property of Kelly Tomlin 2016.

Further reading

We gather together to Walk the Wheel; to share with one another and be inspired.